Skip to main content

Gokul Iyer

Back to Faculty & Staff
Associate Research Scholar; Fellow, CGS
  • Expert in technology diffusion, stranded assets, and investments within the context of long-term transitions 
  • Expert in long-term scenarios, tradeoffs and synergies across societal objectives
  • Lead developer and coordinator of a detailed U.S. state-level, energy-water-land human-Earth systems model

Dr. Gokul Iyer is a Joint Appointee between the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory's Joint Global Change Research Institute and the University of Maryland. His research focuses on investigating issues at the intersections of energy, land, water systems using integrated human-Earth systems models. His research uses these models to explore long-term  transitions, subnational, national, and global decarbonization strategies, technology diffusion, investments, and stranded assets. Dr. Iyer's research also explores sustainable development issues - in particular, synergies and tradeoffs across various societal objectives, climate impacts on the energy system, and more recently, income inequality. He is the lead developer and coordinator for the U.S. state-level version of the Global Change Assessment Model (GCAM - USA) at JGCRI. Dr. Iyer has a vast publishing experience in peer-reviewed journals. In addition, he is a contributing author in the Sixth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. He also serves on the editorial board of Energy and Climate Change. Dr. Iyer has a Ph.D. in Environmental Policy from the University of Maryland, a Master's degree in Energy Systems Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology- Bombay, and a Bachelor's degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from the Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology - Nagpur.

Areas of Interest
  • Integrated modeling; technological change; sustainable development; climate and energy policy
View All Publications

School Authors: Gokul Iyer, Leon Clarke, James 'Jae' Edmonds, Nathan Hultman, Yiyun 'Ryna' Cui, Sha Yu, Haewon McJeon

Other Authors: Yang Ou, Allen A. Fawcett, James R. McFarland, Matthew Binsted, Claire Fyson, Andreas Geiges, Sofia Gonzales-Zuñiga, Matthew J. Gidden, Niklas Höhne, Louise Jeffery, Takeshi Kuramochi, Jared Lewis, Malte Meinshausen, Zebedee Nicholls, Pralit Patel, Shaun Ragnauth, Joeri Rogel J., Stephanie Waldhoff